Only 7 hours around Edimburgh!

I know, it is not much time. Specially if you consider that I arrived monday at around 11 pm in the airport. The thing is… I wasn’t being a tourist around Scotland. I was just in my way to the Orkney islands to see some Wave Energy systems some companies are testing there. But it was my first time in the city. I couldn’t stay in the airport all night or even just go to a hostel or something. I took a bus to downtown decided to walk as much as possible.

The cold of the night wasn't a problem...

You can see by my hair the wind was quite strong!

Everything in their architecture is very different to my eyes

Despite the emptiness of the city at night, I was enjoying many special things I know I wouldn't be able to see by day

I just went randomly walking… only taking care to know the direction to the street where I would take the bus in the morning. Then I found a graveyard. And a church. And a parking area. And some nice people walking in the night. And a castle!

The Castle

Just a ghost...

I was happy. Very happy. But this was just the beginning. I was somewhere near the Castle when I saw two blonde girls drunkly walking down the street. They had to be coming from some happy crowded place. I spoke to them.

– Hey, you want to go to some place nice? A party or something? Come on… let’s go!

They stoped a taxi and asked for a street and there I was, inside the taxi with them!

We went to some parties and had some drinks. The music was good also and people friendly. And those two girls… they were from Finland and they were quite fun.

We went to walk and they tried to teach me some sentences in Finnish. Aparently I’m a great learner but my memory sucks… I can’t remember a word! And I must add… those too… They could speak Spanish! I’m a Portuguese speaker and I can’t speak Spanish myself! And as far as I can understand it, since it is almost the same as portuguese, the girls were doing pretty well.

Don't ask much. I just thought it was curious enough to deserve a picture.

Party!

Four in the morning? Five in the morning? Doesn't matter... dinner time!

I went back to the airport really happy. Completely ready to my flight to Orkney.

A very nice talkative lady in the airport made all the waiting time literally fly away... She had stories about everything everywhere! Wonderful!

It is always nice to find this airplane flying around the world!

And, finally, the airplane to Orkney. While everything nowadays say "I took a very very small airplane!", for me this is still a huge airplane, since I'm used to flying little ones where you can put only two people and NOTHING else! And it was a lovely flight, but that's another story...

About Axel Pliopas

Between flying and engineering, I try to find some time to explore everything I can... Looking for interesting people and places, and trying to tell some of the interesting stories I find, is the objective of this blog. In the process, hopefully, my pictures will get better and better (they all say experience time has something to do with this...)
This entry was posted in Edimburgh, Scotland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Only 7 hours around Edimburgh!

  1. laz says:

    awesome experiences!!!

  2. rommel says:

    Wow! That’s amazing going places with the locals. That’s something I haven’t done, or probably won’t do. Only because I probably would chicken out of the invitation. Hehe Me not so much of a people person.

    I did met this ITalian woman in the airport. I talked to her in ITalian for a long time ’til our plane took off. I was amazed on the courage I had taking to strangers, and of different language.

    Great blog, Axel.

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      Thank you so much for the compliment and for sharing your story! I usually enjoy meeting new people, you always discover lots of different perspectives just about everything!

  3. kaie w. bird says:

    ….you must be charming as hell! 😉 Cool story. You seem like one of those people who everyone is very fond of. I admire you for that. I’m a bit more shy in real life than I think you are. Lame, I know. Hugs!

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      Hey! Thank you so much for this lovely comment! But no, I try to do my best, but the merit in this story goes entirely to the people from Finland and to scotish people in general… go there someday and then you tell me… they are just too friendly, or I was really lucky to find the right ones! It was a wonderful night 🙂 Thank you again for coming here… always a pleasure! Hugs 😉

Leave a comment