The Beast

I was a stranger arriving at that scene. But the Beast was already there. Happy if he knew me for years. He was jumping happy if I was an old friend showing by for a visit. A blanket and two old sweaters. That’s what I had. I gave it to Rafael. And the Beast beside him. jumping as if winning the lottery.

It was a dark corner in front of a commercial building. But no one renting the place. Crisis time. The place was hidden enough so that Rafael and the Beast would not frighten the clients from the nearby drugstore away.

The Beast did not know about any of this. He was jumping, spinning, wagging his tail… all just like any other happy dog would do in some more afortunate reality.

– This is The Beast. He is aways with me, even in such a crazy cold weather!

Rafael folded the sweaters with care. He was the couture tailor himself. And once more he said thanks. And there they were, Rafael and the Beast. Smiling and playing with each other.

I said goodbye and, warmed up, headed my way.

About Axel Pliopas

Between flying and engineering, I try to find some time to explore everything I can... Looking for interesting people and places, and trying to tell some of the interesting stories I find, is the objective of this blog. In the process, hopefully, my pictures will get better and better (they all say experience time has something to do with this...)
This entry was posted in Brasil, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

