Snow in Rome

I had just experienced a very intense cold. It was minus 2°C in Madrid, but since it was very windy, when I came back to the apartment of my friend, late at night, my face was feeling like burned! Then I took the plane back to Rome.

When I arrived in the Ciampino airport, everything was covered by snow. I was concerned about all this cold. But when I left the airplane, there was no wind at all and it felt amazingly comfortable! Then I was so happy to see all that snow, I could not go directly back to my house. I took the subway to a station near the Vatican and went walking through the city (as I did in many ocasions, but this time there was all this snow around!). I hope you enjoy this different aspect of the Ethernal City:

Snow by the Tevere river

Snow around the Colosseo

Ice cream in front of the monument to Vittorio Emanuele II

Fontana di Trevi surrounded by snow. The stairs to the fountain were closed, in order to preserve the snow and allow everyone to apreciate this different aspect of this place.

a Vespa covered in snow in the streets of Rome. This is the first time I took a picture of a Vespa!

About Axel Pliopas

Between flying and engineering, I try to find some time to explore everything I can... Looking for interesting people and places, and trying to tell some of the interesting stories I find, is the objective of this blog. In the process, hopefully, my pictures will get better and better (they all say experience time has something to do with this...)
This entry was posted in Italy, Roma and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Snow in Rome

  1. Ma che bella Roma con la neve! 🙂 adorei a foto das ruínas com neve! Incrível! Queria ter presenciado esse momento! bjs

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      Tá vendo!! Deveria ter ido dar um passeio por Roma, “logo ali”!! A gente tomava um sorvete. As sorveterias de Roma são muito mais seguras, é difícil se perder nelas! srsrrsrssrrs

  2. Awesome images and great thing to do travel! Picture #10 looks like if someone did a cross, very cool!!!

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      Yes! It’s just the walking path in that archeological area, but the effect of a “cross in the snow” is remarkable! Thank you very much for your visit and your comment! 🙂

  3. rommel says:

    I’ve never experienced snow in Rome. I actually didn’t think it snows there. I know, silly me. I didn’t know it can be that beautiful during snow.

  4. Victor Ho says:

    Axel
    Thanks for visiting my blog. Snow in Rome? It is so different than the Rome I remember. I suppose it is because all my visits were in hot sunny weather. All the best.

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      Hello! Yes, not only that… snowing in Rome is quite rare… the last time was 26 years ago… so those pictures are also different from the Rome one experiences in the winter! 🙂

  5. ~mimo~ says:

    It looks amazing to see all that snow. Very nice night shots!

  6. VIOLETA says:

    Nice pictures! That must have been fun. I didn’t know it snowed in Rome too. 😉

    And although this is coming kind of late, Welcome Back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

