My house is bigger

Nearly ten hours crossing the skies of the earth at around 550 miles per hour, 36.000 above the Mediterranean. The Saara desert. The Atlantic Ocean. I left Rome with the last sunlight of the day. And the first rays of light of the next morning arrived precisely in time to let me see the brazilian shoreline.

Of course I was tired. I wasn’t thinking many things or trying to be philosophical or anything… but then, when I could see deep in the horizon… there it is, land is sight! I had this deep feeling like “I’m home!”.

Image

Shortly after that I started laughing at myself… Home? Some kilometers above deep ocean, moving nearly the speed of sound against the thin and freezing air outside? Just some months ago, at that point in the air the only feeling I could experience would be of remoteness, loneliness… But there I was, feeling “at home!! I arrived, I arrived!”. Through that small window I could look at this huge continent and I really felt I was looking at my house. A very big house.

About Axel Pliopas

Between flying and engineering, I try to find some time to explore everything I can... Looking for interesting people and places, and trying to tell some of the interesting stories I find, is the objective of this blog. In the process, hopefully, my pictures will get better and better (they all say experience time has something to do with this...)
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My house is bigger

  1. Olga says:

    A big home for a big family. Welcome back, bro.

  2. kaie w. bird says:

    That was really lovely and as a traveler myself, I can understand the weight the word “home” carries. Very well said and glad that you are home. = ) …enjoy while you can still sit still! 😉

  3. The Hook says:

    I love your originality!

  4. The Hook says:

    Love the angle…

Leave a Reply

