Walking all night in Rome

When I went to the Couch Surfing meetings, in Rome, I had one problem: transportation. I needed a little bit more than one hour to go back home. Considering there was no more buses or subways after midnight, you already know what I mean. So sometimes I decided to just stay… and then walk around the city all night until the first subway arrived.

There was a particular day which was very crazy, though. In the CS meeting, I just decided to take a ride to the west side of the city. A completely useless ride for me, since I live far away south. But if I wanted to walk, it didn’t matter where I was! And I had literally hours to spend, so I better start if from far. I started taking pictures near the Vaticano. Around it, in fact. Until things started to happen.

First I saw a limo and lots of people – all women – celebrating a birthday. The driver was a very formal Japanese man, and the overall arrangement was very funny. Then I found two English-speakers-lost-people trying to find a taxi. I had the taxi number in my cell phone! And it was by then we found out there was a “sciopero” (strike) going on. Yes… no taxi working all over Rome!

In the end I was able to help those two get a taxi… they were living more than 13 km from there! But even with this moving fact, we had to try to stop may be more than 15 taxis before one gave them a chance…

All over my way from the Vatican to the Piazza Venezia, I found groups of tourists. Brazilians, sometimes. Of course when it was after 4 in the morning there was nobody anywhere anymore, and even the Irish Pub was empty.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Axel Pliopas

Between flying and engineering, I try to find some time to explore everything I can... Looking for interesting people and places, and trying to tell some of the interesting stories I find, is the objective of this blog. In the process, hopefully, my pictures will get better and better (they all say experience time has something to do with this...)
This entry was posted in Italy, Roma, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Walking all night in Rome

  1. VIOLETA says:

    wow, you’re very adventurous and courageous–walking in the middle of the night alone and down unfamiliar streets. i wish I was that courageous. i’d love to spend a night doing that. life is different at night.

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      Yes, the city is completely different at night… I did that in Yokohama too… but something important about Yokohama and the center of Rome: it is very safe! In Japan you have broader areas where you can feel safe, and here at Rome, at least in the center of the city, you have the “CARABINIERI” cars everywhere (the military police)… So in fact it doesn’t demand so much courage as it seems… 🙂

  2. In front of the Irish Pub.
    A view of the streets in front of Vatican City.
    One of the many churches in Rome.
    The night time brings a different beauty to the streets.

    These four were my absolute favorites, especially the one with the blue lights. Every city has two faces, one during the day and one during the night, and most people don’t realize exactly how different they can be. Kudos to you! Awesome photography! 🙂

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      Kudos to you too! And thank you for the visit. Yes… I’m really impressed by those tourists who spend one or two days here, taking one picture everywhere and they say… “I know ITALY!”…. I’m here for three months and I’m not afraid to say… I don’t know Rome, I barely started to know some of its many faces…. 😉

  3. rommel says:

    Exactly the problem I had as well, the train hours is not accomodating enough. I wanted to see most of Rome, but I had to give up seeing the entirety of St. Peter’s Basilica (seen it only once but not the tower and the tour).

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      Yes, I was reallly amazed by all the limitations of time of the transport here, specially considering the amazed quantity of tourists… let’s hope Rome will turn that into something better in the near future!

  4. rommel says:

    Ow, Rome sure is more beautiful at night esp. the Trevi Fountain.

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      yes yes…. I’m living away from the historical center, but I paid the 30 euros to use the bus freely all month… so most of the days I just walk by the city, and Fontana di Trevi is a place to stay always by some 10, 20 minutes, just sitting there and wondering how wonderful if such a mixture of people from all around happily like that could be the reality of the world everywhere… I love that place! 🙂

  5. The Hook says:

    Great title and prose, Alex!

Leave a Reply

