What is really important in your life?

Thanks to Couch Surfing I met many amazing people while in Japan. Juju, for instance, a japanese girl who could speak Portuguese pretty well because she’s been in Brazil for a while and also lived about one year in Angola! Unusual people, yes.

She invited me to an Oktober Fest in Tokyo, and there we met a lot of other CSurfers.

Beer, music, dancing, yes yes… all of that.

Then Juju takes a notebook, big pen and start asking everyone…. “What’s really important in your life? Could you write here and then we take a picture?” This is quite a nice project! She’s been doing it for long now and has hundreds of pictures… you are encouraged to write it in your own language, and of course you are free to draw something if you want. I was very lucky because in this particular day Juju was without her camera, so she asked for mine… Which is the reason why I have the pictures:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Axel Pliopas

Between flying and engineering, I try to find some time to explore everything I can... Looking for interesting people and places, and trying to tell some of the interesting stories I find, is the objective of this blog. In the process, hopefully, my pictures will get better and better (they all say experience time has something to do with this...)
This entry was posted in People, Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What is really important in your life?

  1. Uau! I would like to meet Juju! 🙂 I really like her project, it is very interesting.
    (obs: your hair was short! hahahaha)

  2. ***The LensMaster says:

    Once I’m done with law school, I’ll do Couch Surfing, too! Hope I’ll meet people like Juju, too!

  3. Always been fascinated by couch surfing. But then I chicken out. Oh my God what if I snore or walk around in my sleep. Ok I’m chicken.

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      Hahahahahahaha, but I believe chickens can overcome their fears too! But I myself have never “couch surfed”, though I want to do that… Up to now I’ve only been to the meetings they make, because it is always such a wonderful meeting… a lot of people you don’t know, but all friendly, all willing to tell their stories and listen to yours… As for couch surfing, of course you’ll talk to the person before doing that, and then it comes to how you feel about it… there’s a lot of discussion about that. 🙂

  4. Animockery says:

    Alex, I love the post and the blog, I will look forward to reading more. By the way; what is most important to me is my wife Joyce and my sons Raeden and Harry. They come first then my love of general geekery.

    • Axel Pliopas says:

      Hello! Thank you for the visit! 🙂 Yes, maybe my comments sounded wrong… I know (or at least I had faith on it) that tech gadgets are not your number one priority in life… One other way to make my point: our desires are wilder than our necessities… 🙂 Thanks once more for the visit!

  5. The Hook says:

    Very cool concept – and share!

  6. Gilly Gee says:

    That sounds like such a fun project and something to treasure in the future! thanks for sharing about it!

  7. hellenjc says:

    Our desires are wilder than our necessities…great way to put it…nice post!

Leave a Reply

