The spirit of Tiberinus

A long river… a long history!

In the Aeneid, the great poem of Virgil, Aeneas has a dream… The god of the river tells him about the future of a great city by the river. The great city is, of course, Rome!

And the river is the Tiber, which through history had different names… being first Albula. But it was changed to “Tiber” after the King of Alba, called Tiberinus. He died in the waters of the river and was later considered a river-god by the Latins.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In Italian, the river is called Tevere.

And I, sort of a Professional Ignorant, didn’t know ANYTHING of all this before the pleasent walk by the river on one of my first days in Rome. I stoped near one of the many bridges and started to making some pictures (those on the slide show above). And then I had all this interest about the river, the history, the names of the places…

And this is one reason why traveling is soooo nice: your interests and curiosities receive this burst of energy to learn a lot more about the world! I also learned that the Tevere is the third longest river in Italy. The longest is the Po river, and the second is the Adige.

And yes, the pictures in the slideshow are all of the same bridge, not specifically of the river… So this post should be about the bridge. In fact, every bridge over the “fiume Tevere” (Tiber river) has a history on its won, probably intersting and worth mentioning. But instead of taking picture of the whole river this day, and the other bridges… I just turned off my camera, put it back in the my backpack… and had all the pleasures of walking in that afternoon only for me.

About Axel Pliopas

Between flying and engineering, I try to find some time to explore everything I can... Looking for interesting people and places, and trying to tell some of the interesting stories I find, is the objective of this blog. In the process, hopefully, my pictures will get better and better (they all say experience time has something to do with this...)
This entry was posted in Italy, Roma and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

