Just a walk around…

Thanks to the miracles of the jat-lag biology, it was 5 am and awake I was. First morning in Japan! I couldn’t stay in my room… Took a fast shower, and went to walk!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then I had this feeling… I can’t remember… Ten years? No no, ten years ago I was 18… So may be around 20 years ago! This feeling… fear of going too far! No, I don’t have a map in my pocket. No, I can’t comunicate to anyone here. No, I don’t have a cell phone. And if I need to read something… oh god, oh god!

So I started taking only those most distinctive paths… not the small streets where every corner looked somewhat equal to my untrained foreign eyes… Let’s cross the bridge over the road. Let’s take this big big and lonely star and see where it goes… Let’s walk!

It is a very rich experience… you should do it at least once… go to a completely unknown place and just go by itself… without a map, without a phone… it has an amazingly strong effect over your senses. The way you look at every detail. The way your inner instinctive feeling is always over that thin line between fear and excitation.

Yes, yes… I found my way back. But, in that special spiritual sense, yes yes: I never returned!

About Axel Pliopas

Between flying and engineering, I try to find some time to explore everything I can... Looking for interesting people and places, and trying to tell some of the interesting stories I find, is the objective of this blog. In the process, hopefully, my pictures will get better and better (they all say experience time has something to do with this...)
This entry was posted in Japan, Yokohama and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just a walk around…

  1. I agree with you, just walk without map, without know the way… Just (learn to) listen your sense! Great text! Congrats!

  2. hellenjc says:

    This really made me smile..particularly the line “The way your inner instinctive feeling is always over that thin line between fear and excitation” Spot on !

    • Adriano Axel says:

      Hello Hellen! Thank you for taking a time to visit and read here… I really felt that… In my first weekend in Japan, I went out to walk a little bit…. and this little bit lasted for more than 4 hours… I just couldn’t come back home. But there was always this fear of getting lost and not being able to ask for the way back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

