To Japan!

Yes, yes… It is kinda crazy, I know. My first international trip was from Brazil to… Japan!

It is written on the header of this blog that it’s about “A serendipitous walk around the world…”. And, in fact, this trip over half the globe was a gift from St. Serendipity. I work with research on Naval Engineering. But it’s not long since I was graduated, and in my laboratory there are engineers with better experimence than me both with respect to knowledge and to total time at the company. Therefore I wasn’t really expecting to get into this program of international training. Until…

– Axel, could you come here? – it was my boss. It was December, 2010. He went on… – Would you like to go to Japan? But it is for at least 4 months and you must leave already in January… Do you have a passport? Can you get a visa?

I didn’t have a passport. I think I could have a visa. I definitely would love to go! Busy days, those in December back then… It all because the other engineer, who was logically the person to go on this mission, was busy getting married and finnishing his thesis. But then we had some delays regarding an apartment for me at Yokohama. And then… then there was the horrible earthquake. So I had to wait some more time.

When it was finally all ok with the apartment, and already some time had elapsed after the earthquake, I got the passport and the visa.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I could not really believe this trip was real until I saw the airplane in the airport. I looked through the window, checked on my ticket… Ok, THIS is the aiplane that will take me to Frankfurt, and then I take another one to Tokyo… That’s almost precisely half the world apart from São Paulo. So I flew on the 747. Then on the A380 to Tokyo. I’m sure one can say, confidently, it is a very good way to start traveling. And to falling in love with it.

About Axel Pliopas

Between flying and engineering, I try to find some time to explore everything I can... Looking for interesting people and places, and trying to tell some of the interesting stories I find, is the objective of this blog. In the process, hopefully, my pictures will get better and better (they all say experience time has something to do with this...)
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

