Cats and smiles…

Monday. Rome at night, after 10 pm already… I was in the Viale del Policlinico, my backpack full and my back almost crushing down on itself. Heavy, tired. Then I saw an old lady going back to her car just after putting some foods to a cat that lives in the gardens of some official buildings in the area. I couldn’t help but look at the scene and feel happy about it. Then the old lady looked at me.

– Buona sera!

– Buona sera! – I replied normally. Apparently.

– Finalmente una persona che me sorridere, che non mi guarda con schifo… (Finally someone who smiles to me, sho doesn’t look at me with disgust)

I started talking to her. She loves to take care of cats and goes around the city doing this. Some cats are more temperamental than others. She tried different foods and today she nows the favorite food of each cat.  She said normally people don’t approve what she does, this is why she was happy I smiled at her.

We said good bye…

She was happy. Happy. I’m sorry if you are a traditional type of turist, but this was far better then visiting the Coliseum! I could explain why, but either the explanation would be too long, or I’m sure you already understand it 😉

About Axel Pliopas

Between flying and engineering, I try to find some time to explore everything I can... Looking for interesting people and places, and trying to tell some of the interesting stories I find, is the objective of this blog. In the process, hopefully, my pictures will get better and better (they all say experience time has something to do with this...)
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

